Southern Summer Low Carb Tomato Pie

image

Low Carb Southern Tomato Pie

Tomato pie, ahhh!!!  It’s a Southern summer thang.  It’s rich and decadent and it tastes like summer the way June bugs and lightning bugs and bare feet make us feel summer.  I fell in love with tomato pie back when I was a carb eater. There’s likely a little of the high fat version still padding my thighs!!  Lol!  When I went low carb, I figured that tomato pie was just a part of my sordid past.  Our pasts have a way of catching up with us, and so that’s exactly how I came to create a low carb version of this delicious Southern classic.

The filling or pie innards are all low carb friendly, but it was the crust that presented the challenge.  I needed a savory crust that would hold up to the moisture of the tomatoes.  What to do?  Hmm…cheese? A “thirsty” flour alternative?  Yes to both and an egg for good measure.  And then the innards…savory, creamy…a tomato sandwhich filling without bread.

I could go on about the thought process for putting this recipe together, but you and I both know the real reason you’re here.  Yep. No need to pretend.  Here’s the recipe!

Southern Summer Low Carb Tomato Pie

Crust
1 cup almond flour
1 tablespoon oat fiber (or coconut flour)
1 cup shredded parmesan cheese
1 egg
1/4 tsp salt
1 tablespoon bacon fat (or coconut oil, ghee or butter)

Filling (innards)
5-6 large tomatoes, peeled and sliced
1/2 cup mayo (homemade or Duke’s)
1/3 cup chopped bacon or real bacon pieces
3/4 cup shredded cheese (I mixed cheddar and asiago. Parm, cheddar, gouda–lots of things would work)
1/3 cup finely slivered onion

Using a pie plate mix parmesan cheese, almond flour, oat fiber, egg, bacon fat, and salt.  Press into the pie plate and bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Place sliced tomatoes over the crust. It will be about two slices deep.

image

Sprinkle bacon pieces over tomato slices and add onion slices.

image

Mix mayonnaise and cheese together. Spread mayo mixture over the sliced tomatoes sealing by spreading to the edges of the crust.

image

Sprinkle dried oregano and dried basil over the top.
Bake at 350 to 375 for about 30 minutes.  Crust will be browned and bubbly.  Let set for at least 10 minutes before serving.  Enjoy warm or cold!!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Southern Summer Low Carb Tomato Pie

  1. KimH says:

    Whoa.. My mouth is still watering!! Thanks soo much for sharing this baby.. I guarantee you there is one in this Southern born & bred, Yankee living girls future! 🙂 Thanks! You’re the Bomb, Chica!

    Like

  2. Betty frick says:

    OMG, you solved my problem with this recipe. I tried to figure out a crust. This is going to be on my table Monday.

    Like

    • Simply Keto says:

      Yay!!! I’d love to hear if you make the filling differently. The crust was my biggest concern, and it was perfect! I wish I’d had fresh basil for the filling. Next time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

