Low Carb Sausage Gravy: Good Morning!

If you saw the post about low carb biscuits, you may be wondering where’s the gravy?!  It’s here, and its an incredibly versatile recipe.  As written below and as prepared in my YouTube video, sausage gravy is the ultimate breakfast comfort food, and can fit nicely with a ketogenic or low carb high fat way of eating.

Biscuits with gravy on a

Sausage gravy is almost as good as getting to stay in bed with a warm blanket!

Sausage Gravy Recipe
1 lb sausage cooked and crumbled
1 8 ounce cream cheese (may use to limit dairy or to make a thinner gravy)
1 1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp instant coffee
1/4 tsp salt

Brown sausage in a skillet.  After it’s browned, add the cream cheese and heavy cream and stir on low heat until melted and well mixed.  Add the remaining ingredients.  May need to thin with additional cream or broth.  Serve with low carb biscuits or eggs.

For more about the biscuits, watch my video!

By the way, this gravy is only the beginning!  It’s creamy and rich and filling and you can pair it with most any meat with just a few tweaks.  Using cream cheese and heavy cream as a base, the combinations are endless.  For another breakfast idea, use bacon instead of sausage.  Country ham or chipped beef would also work well.  And, if you can’t make the biscuits, this gravy would be scrumptious with eggs.

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Low Carb Sausage Gravy: Good Morning!

  1. barbsmith57 says:

    This gravy is FANTASTIC – my husband has DH and I follow Keto way of eating and with Kristi’s heavenly biscuits he was in hog heaven. It is one of our staples now and just so you know – both the biscuits and the gravy are good two days later (didn’t realize how big of a batch it made). I would caution you against reheating the gravy in the microwave (perfect for biscuits) as ours tended to “burn” or had a weird texture. Heating it up in batches in a small skillet on the stove was PERFECT!! Thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yum! Do you make low carb biscuits, or do you buy them somewhere?

    Like

  3. Have you posted the biscuit recipe? Would love to try.

    Like

  4. lydia dailey says:

    Kristie your biscuits and gravy have become a staple in my household. My husband and I love them! I can’t thank you enough for all your posts, recipes, and videos. You have changed our lives for the better! May your life continue to be richly Blessed!

    Like

    • Simply Keto says:

      Muah!! So glad it’s been helpful!! Folks just have to know that you don’t have to struggle!

      Like

      • Kristie, I was wondering if you’ve posted the nutritional data anywhere? I plugged it into my fitness pal but wanted to compare what you came up with. No biggie, just thought I’d ask. Keep up the great posts. You are my inspiration! I just love you and your silly kids! If you haven’t posted it I’d be glad to share what I came up with if you want it. I did it for the biscuits and gravy.

        Like

  5. cheryl says:

    Loved the LC Biscuits and sausage gravy! The ingredients list calls for baking powder (which I used), however, the narrative directions say baking “soda”….just thought I’d let you know so corrections can be made for using baking powder or baking soda. I did not have oat fiber, so used the coconut flour instead – turned out great. Oh yeah, we will be making these again. Thanks for sharing Kristie! I will be trying chicken pot pie next 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

